Liam sees Red-dy

Western Sydney Wanderers and Perth Glory have both kept their finals hopes alive playing out a 1-1 draw in front of 6612 fans at Spotless Stadium. The RBB wasn’t active and neither will Perth Glory’s Liam Reddy for next week after the gloveman was sent off in the second half for denying Jaushua Sotirio an obvious goal scoring opportunity, although with Sotirio you can never be sure it’s an obvious goal scoring opportunity. Anyway, Reddy was sent off and in doing so became just the fourth goalkeeper to receive multiple red cards in the A-League. Let’s take a look at the others.

Liam Reddy
Despite receiving 19 yellow cards in his long, travelled A-League career, Liam Reddy has only received two red cards. The second obviously being in the 1-1 draw against the Wanderers, and the first came last season in a 2-0 loss to the Central Coast Mariners, double blow that one.

Michael Theo
Michael Theo has won nine titles in the A-League but he is also one of four goalkeepers to receive more than one red card. Theo’s first came in a 2-2 draw with the Mariners in the 2008-09 season, the second came in Rd 23 last season in a 2-1 loss to Adelaide United.

Danny Vukovic
Danny Vukovic is the only goalkeeper in A-League history to receive two red cards in the same season. Playing for the Mariners in the 2007-08 season he received his first for handball outside the box in that crazy 5-4 loss to Sydney FC in Rd 15. Then, possibly the most famous red card in A-League history, he slapped Mark Shield’s hand in the 2008 Grand Final loss against F3 rivals Newcastle.

Paul Izzo
The Mariners have been a constant on this list so it’s no surprise the list ends with another former goalkeeper. This time Paul Izzo. Currently between the sticks at Adelaide, Izzo is the first goalkeeper to be sent off for two yellow cards, this happened in a 4-1 loss to Sydney FC in Rd 12 2015-16. The second came last season when he brought down Bruno Fornaroli in a 3-2 loss to Melbourne City in Rd 22 of last season.

Six other goalkeepers have received red cards in the A-League history:

    • Mark Birighitti
    • Ante Covic
    • Tando Velaphi
    • Thomas Sorensen
    • Robert Bajic
    • Jerryd Tyson

Write a Reply